The Tag Monster Lives!

After a long night of stitching the Tag Monster is done. I have to say that sewing on that much ribbon was very ambitious and, in all honesty, towards the end the craftsmanship wasn’t quite what it could have been… but hey, Oscar is going to chew it to pieces with those sharp little baby teeth anyway. I’m pretty pleased with the end result and now that it’s safely photographed I can’t wait to give it to him (he’s sound asleep as I type).

If anyone would like the pattern leave a comment and I”ll put it together for you. It was actually very easy apart from the ribbon stitching.

Here’s the original sketch.

December Update: The Tag Monster pattern is finally done, grab it here.

21 thoughts on “The Tag Monster Lives!

  1. I have followed your blog for a few months now. I love this sweet little tag monster. Great idea, could you please send me the pattern. It would be a great baby gift.

  2. Love it! I attempted a tag blanket with my first. Now I am patiently waiting through the heat of the summer for my second – this tag monster might just take my mind off the pregnancy! Would love a copy of the pattern if you wouldn’t mind!

  3. Just found your blog. Love it! I also love your little tag monster. Please send me the pattern. My little guy is turning one next week and I want to sew him up some goodies!
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. I just found your site. You have made some wonderful things that will be treasured for a lifetime. I love your tag monster. I would love a copy of the pattern if you are still offering it. Thanks!

  5. This monster is adorable! Brings a smile to my face to see it.

    I am just curious if it *might* be patent infringement? The Taggies company has an incredibly broad patent that covers ribbon tags sewn to fabric. It might be worth researching further.

  6. This is absolutely adorable! I would love the pattern for it, if you’re still offering! I am curious how you keep the ends of the ribbon from unraveling! It looks so snuggly! :o) Kim – kimlooney [at] yahoo [dot] com

  7. Thanks so much for all the lovely comments!

    The ends of the ribbon are tricky! I folded them over and then sewed but I would recommend cutting them with those zig-zag scissors (technical term) and then sewing them on to really stop the fraying.

  8. I would love the pattern for the tag monster. Saw your stand at the Stitches and Craft show and loved all your creations! Woke up this morning all inspired to be creative. Thanks.

  9. I would love the pattern for your tag monster please. I have found your website very inspirational and I am getting out my sewing kit this afternoon to have a go at something myself….I can only hope my creations are as gorgeous and as well loved as yours!

Leave a Reply

