Yummy new fabric

Let me be honest, lately I have been indulging in fabric stash therapy. The internet is a dangerous place when the husband has cricket on the TV (yawn) for the fifth night in a row and the toddler is tucked in bed. I ordered this bevvy of treats a few weeks ago from the states…

.

This first one is a Japanese fabric to make an apron for Oscar’s 2nd birthday in November. He is obsessed with cooking at the moment and insists on having an apron on just like mum. I’ve had to make do with a tea towel wrapped around his waist but it’s only a matter of time before he figures out that this is not the real thing. He is also obsessed with ham. Yes, ham. Every time we go shopping he asks me to buy ham. So I love that this fabric has a little character on it named ham. Sophie (her heart, my hands) created beautiful aprons a couple of weeks ago and posted a great tutorial on how to make an apron that I’m planning on using.

fabric_ham

These next pieces are authentic by Sweetwater for Moda. I have quite a thing for typographic fabric, so much so that I’ve thought about designing my own and having it printed. This stash is going to be little owl wings. I’m planning on doing a set of kits for the online store (opening on Sunday) that have some black and earthy colours to them – an alternative to the brighter colours.

fabric_authentic

This final stash is for my bike basket lining. I couldn’t decide between the two so I bought both. Oh I’ve been bad!

fabric_soiree

11 thoughts on “Yummy new fabric

  1. Love the fabrics you bought Claire, and the little apron will turn out so cute in that fabric. Make sure you give us a modelled shot of how it turns out. Have you decided which fabric to use for your bike.

  2. Well what else is there to do while the cricket(yawn) is on, but shop online. Nice stash, love the apron fabric, been thinking i need to make one for my 2.5yr little man, he helps me cook all the time. I like the aqua and flower one for the basket-its so spring looking and so is your cool bike, can’t wait to see what you decide on!

  3. Love getting new fabric! I have to say, the thought of your cute owls being made in that newsprint fabric you show that looks just like a newspaper, made me seriously happy. The whole owl should be in black and white, definitely. I’d love to see it.

  4. I am just about to top quilt my moda authentic quilt. I loved this fabric as soon as I saw it on etsy. I bought a charm pack and am now wondering if I should buy an other???

    • The Japanese one with the little “ham” on it? That was from the fat quarter shop (fatquartershop.com) online. I haven’t really bought a lot of fabric on ebay actually. Corrie over at retromummy.blogspot.com has lots of great Japanese fabric at the moment that I’m desperately trying to resist!

Leave a Reply

