The mod gingerbread house begins

Every year I make a gingerbread house. Well every year since Oscar was born so this will be my third. The first year I went very traditional, burnt half the gingerbread but discovered that enough lollies and icing and chocolate cover anything and that despite everyone having eaten a huge Xmas lunch it will be devoured. Burnt bits and all. The second year the gingerbread was baked perfectly. The only hitch was that I had to take it to Melbourne and assemble it in my in-laws place on Christmas eve. So I made a flat pack house and put it together ikea style. I was terrified it wouldn’t work and my in-laws spotless kitchen would be covered in royal icing which is impossible to remove once it sets. Thank goodness my brother-in-law, who is in construction, was there to oversee the works and in the end that was one sturdy house! I went nuts on the lollies at hubbies request (he is a total sugar addict).

This year I’m going Mod with the house. Well Mid-Century Modern to be exact. I have a real thing for early 60’s architecture so I spent last night researching mod houses on flickr and working on my design. My mother thinks I’m being ridiculous, my other half just shook his head and laughed. I mentioned it on twitter and got a VERY positive response with a great link from @AmandaFuller for a very inspiring mod gingerbread house competition. So I’m doing it.

Here’s the very rough concept so far. I’m thinking I may have chocolate cone trees out the front and perhaps a vintage looking car in the carport. I’m ridiculously excited about this.

15 thoughts on “The mod gingerbread house begins

    • Actually the whole incredibles house was part of my research, love it! I thought about the butterfly style roof but then thought I’d end up stuffing it up and went for the simple roof. There’s always time for a last minute change though!

  1. Oh I’ve got a batch of gingerbread dough in the fridge and am tossing up between biccies and a house! I’ve read this and I’m thinking house, house, house!

    Love your houses, but am awfully excited to see how the mod house turns out.

  2. I ran the gingerbread house workshops at the Austin Children’s Museum for 7 years, so I have a lot of experience! Some thoughts for you: love the lifesaver wall! Perfect! I don’t know what candy is available in Australia, but Nerd Ropes make perfect strings of lights. They also sell pink, white and green marshmallows shaped like stars, bells and trees that we used. They sell chocolate cars covered in foil too, some of them vintage.

    • Oh Wendy you must be a gingerbread expert!! I don’t think we have nerd ropes but I’ll have a look today and will be on the scout for the chocolate cars too – any excuse to go into a lolly shop. Thank yoU!

  3. My husband just finished building a similar house. For his birthday the client assembled a replica of the house that she made out of dense chocolate mud cake. My husband loved it…I think my first words were ‘that women must have too much time on her hands’. Now look at you! Can’t wait to see it, I’m sure it will be total awesome!

    • OMG – out of chocolate mud cake? I can even imagine how you would construct that. I’d be lost without at least a kilo of icing to reinforce my dodgy walls!

  4. This is excellent Claire! Well done! I am wondering if a decent piece of rocky road would work where the Broken Chocolate Chimney is – can’t wait to see the final product!!

    • Amanda I was thinking exactly the same thing last night watching Nigella whip up a batch of xmas rocky road. Although I have to say that at this stage I may cheat and buy a slab! I wonder if that makes my house pre-fab?

Leave a Reply

