Vintage Tuesday: Owls

I’m feeling all owly this week sketching and stamping owls for Sooz’s tea towel swap that has to go out on Friday. I can’t show you the tea towels just yet but I thought I’d find a few pics of vintage owls and let me tell you there’s lots out there! It seems that owl have always been quite the trend in crafting and homewares. Up the top is a mid-century ceramic owl by The White Mole found on Flickr.You pop a tealight inside and his eyes glow.

.

Next we venture to 1975 and Mad about Macrame – back in the 80’s wit knit post both Monika and Amelia commented that their crafty memories of that decade were Macrame. There was certainly no shortage of pot plant hangers in our house at that time but until this week I’d never heard of owl macrame. This one is from a great blog Cathy of California.. If that tickles your fancy there’s plenty more macrame owls to be had over at Bill Davenports Treasury of Macrame Owls.

Back to modern day craft I love this cut out and make brown owl by Alice Melvin

And if you’re seriously into owls then why not go all out for your next cocktail function with this super cool owl dress, found over at the wonderful blog My Owl Barn.

8 thoughts on “Vintage Tuesday: Owls

  1. Love the owls Claire! I seem to be going thru an Owly month as well, check out my Blog baamekniits.blogspot.com to see. I also received a sock owl kit I had ordered from you last week and I have to say FANTASTIC! What lovely packaging and I have made her up already and she was so easy, thanks for the brilliant instructions. Will post photos and links on my blog later in the week. Jenni šŸ™‚

  2. Yep, the owl macrame! I think that was one of the most popular back then, as well as the good ol’ tiered hanging shelves!! LOL

    Love the dress! I could see me wearing that – NOT!

    I do love owls – my favourite pattern at the moment has owls all over it. Soooo cute!

Leave a Reply

