Down the rabbit hole

This title describes very aptly where I’ve been for the past few days.  A big group of wonderful crafty blog and facebook fans tried out the draft bunny and made some gorgeous little rabbits. Fabulous but… the directions just weren’t as simple as I would’ve liked.

.

With that thought I dove straight back down the rabbit hole of pattern writing – it got bigger, and smaller. Techniques became curiouser and curiouser. I took an “off with their heads” approach while I stitched, measured, unpicked and re-wrote. It’s a strange experience turning something creative into something logical. What makes complete sense to you could be utterly confusing to everyone else.

.

“If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense. Nothing would be what it is, because everything would be what it isn’t. And contrary wise, what is, it wouldn’t be. And what it wouldn’t be, it would. You see?” 

Lewis CarrollAlice in Wonderland

.

But here I am, back in the real world and I’m proud to say that this Funny Tummy Bunny pattern is better than ever. It was worth all that unpicking, re-stitching and wording.  Hooray! It really is the most satisfying thing in the world conquering a pattern. It makes up for all those moments of  “… oh my god… what AM I DOING WITH MY LIFE?”  To think that this little idea that began in wonder  now exists in the world as something that people can actually make is amazing.

.

“Do you think I’ve gone round the bend?” “I’m afraid so. You’re mad, bonkers, completely off your head. But I’ll tell you a secret. All the best people are.” 

Lewis CarrollAlice in Wonderland

.

And with that, I’m pleased to say that the Bunny pattern is finished. He’s cuddly, and squishy with flopsy ears. Just a little photoshoot to go and the pattern will be in the store on the 1st of August. In the meantime I’m back off to imagine six more impossible things before breakfast. .

5 thoughts on “Down the rabbit hole

Leave a Reply

