The 500th: You’ve come a long way baby!

This, my friends, is the 500th blog post for Craft Schmaft. Woot Woot! Crafting around here doesn’t happen in a bubble – I’m genuinely inspired and  by the creativity that abounds on the interwebs. So while I thought it would be great to have a look at some of the milestone posts of Craft Schmaft, I also wanted to share some of the people, places and things that have helped me along the way. 

Ready?

In the beginning
It’s no secret that this blog came about when I was pregnant with my first son and nesting like a mad woman. Some ladies feel the need to clean, polish in preparation for a new baby. Personally, I am devoid of the cleaning and organising gene so my hormonal craziness manifested itself in NEEDING to make things for this little baby.

What isn’t well known is that this early sewing would never have been possible without my mother and her mother before her – both of whom had a complete aversion to sewing.  Absolutely hated it.  Nope, this isn’t a tale of skills handed down from generation to generation. My first sewing machine was bought by my mum with money she’d found hidden inside my late grandmother’s dining table. My gorgeous nan, having grown up in the depression, had stashed cash all over the house for a rainy day and so it bought a vintage singer sewing machine.  One of the first things I made was this quilt for the amazing cradle my grandfather had built with his own hands in the 70s. Creativity is contagious.

cradle_quilt_2

100th post – Softie obsession
I fell in love with softie making.  I was so inspired by by the likes of Nest Studio/Umbrella Prints, Amy Karol and a wealth of softies on flickr. This  little Elephant, named Elliot was the 100th post giveaway.

Elliot Elephant Sock Softie

200th post – Quit my day job
Around the 200th Post I I quit my day job and launched the first patterns for Craft Schmaft – the Sock pup, Owlies and G-Raf. Truly the most terrifying and exhilarating time – I ummed and aahhed on the blog about taking the leap. The likes of new found blogger friends like Myrtle and Enuice, Snailblazer, The Red Thread, Tutti Fruitti and Her Heart My Hands and Retro Mummy were so encouraging and supportive. I can honestly say that I wouldn’t have been brave enough to do it without them (and of course my family) cheering me on.

Sock Owl e-Pattern

 

300th post – oh Baby!
Around the 300th post baby number two was on the way. The Hot Air Balloons began as a mobile for baby Franklin’s nursery, those nesting hormones have been very useful!

balloons_frankie

Sock Pup Baby Gift

400th post – Well hello again

The 400th Post brought a new era of crafting as I emerged from the sleep deprived haze of babies and started to craft again. I lived for traveling to Design markets like Finders Keepers in Melbourne and Brisbane –  I adored meeting customers, hearing about what they loved and their suggestions for patterns and kits. Being surrounded by other designers was like a gulp of fresh air. 

Baby Zilla ePattern and Kit

500th post – Reader’s choice!
My hope for the next hundred is to pass it on – to inspire you to be creative. I truly wish for every one of you to experience the utter delight of making things by hand. I’ve been thinking long and hard about the best way to do this – a giveaway is always great but I’m in the mood  for something a little more unorthodox. So here it is, reader’s choice – I’ll create a pattern, a demonstration or teach you anything you like. Christmas, halloween – your choice. Simply leave a comment with a suggestion of what you’d like me to make. I’ll choose one on Monday the 6th of October. You name it. A stitch – a new softie pattern – a technique. Your choice.

Just leave a comment for what you’d like to me to create or show! I’ll make it and post it back on here for you with a personalised video for the winner.  

“Creativity is contagious. Pass it on.” (Einstein)

Thanks so much for being a part of Craft Schmaft!

signature

20 thoughts on “The 500th: You’ve come a long way baby!

  1. I get to choose anything???? Anything??? That’s too much choice!! Well, I have mentioned before about my love for the flamingo. Can I have one that’s already made up? Or the kit so that I can make it for myself. If not then how about a really cute ghostie for Halloween. Or a bat . . . or a skeleton . . . A cute smiley Halloween skeleton. I’ll stop now, because I could be here for some time otherwise!

    And congratulations on your 500th post! Such an achievement. I’m looking forward to more in the future.

Leave a Reply

