Craft Supply Laundering

Since my post on  “Why do we craft?”  (thanks so much for all your comments!) I’ve been thinking about craft as therapy and supply shopping… or stash therapy as I like to call it.

I don’t know about you but I often feel a little guilty about craft purchases. I shouldn’t, whatever the cost my crafting habit is way cheaper than therapy, but there’s that little moment when you think… did I really just spend that much on fabric/yarn/thread? I’m sure that I’m not alone.

Yes you do need more fabric

I thought I’d share with you my favourite stash story…

Once upon a time there was a talented crafty lady and her crafty bestie. They sewed up a storm and blogged with the best of them spreading their handmade joy across the land. Whilst their new hobby brought them untold satisfaction it did come at a cost – the fabric, the gadgets, the notions and machines. How on earth were they going to get this past their husbands? Wonderful men who simply didn’t understand that the latest Heather Ross Fabric, cutting mat and binding clips were absolute essentials.

They devised a cunning scheme.

Both with small children, they would hold off on claiming their medicare rebate (money back from the government for medical expenses like visits to the doctor) until the annual craft fair. Days before the event they would hand over a stack receipts at the medicare office and line their pockets with cash.

Said cash would then be spent on all manner of crafty supplies, guilt free and completely untraceable on any bank statement. Items would be stashed away in craft rooms before husbands came home, credit cards were clear and crafty ladies happily sewed for months to come.

Absolute genius! It’s like craft supply laundering.

And to think I went to the trouble of creating an entire craft business to justify my purchases. Duh. What about you, how do you justify your bouts of stash therapy? What lengths have you gone to in order to get your craft supply fix?

19 thoughts on “Craft Supply Laundering

  1. At the moment I’m getting most of my supplies as donations (I make upcycled items like wheatbags, cards, and meditation cushions). I’m not sure what I’ll do if/when donations stop coming.

  2. Genius! My husband only realized the extent of my yarn stash when we moved. Then he made me promise not to buy more yarn until I had used up 50% of what I already owned. So I learned how to sew. 😉

  3. I started boarding cats and dogs to fund my hobby/business! I get an excuse to stay at home and make jewellery whilst pet sitting! Plus I go on regular breaks if I have to walk a dog, which stimulates inspiration.. perfect!

  4. Ok…I’m a knitter so I can understand my yarn purchases but I am not a sewer and I cannot get enough fabric. I love Amy Butler and I have a little stash of fabric quarters tucked away. Crazy, I know!!!

  5. My husband just saw my stash of yarn…it takes up one of my closets. He really thinks that I need to stop buying it! Now I get tons of yarny gifts from friends. I do have a small collection of fabric and tons of other stuff that I squirrel away. I think he has calculated how much money in crafty supplies and any time he brings up my stuff, I gently remind him of his hobbies…skiing, hiking, motorcycling…Once he bought these gloves for $60 and I thought to myself that’s 5 skeins of merino!

    • Oh I love it – instant craft supply costing comparison. We should create an info graphic for that! I bet every time you open that closet it makes you smile, and that’s worth it’s weight in gold.

Leave a Reply

