Craft supply adventure in honkers

On Thursday the lovely Cat from Raspberry Rainbow took me out to Sham Shui Po – Hong Kongs heart of textile and haberdashery supplies. This place was nothing short of spectacular! We couldn’t have picked a worse day – cold, grey and rainy but that didn’t dampen our crafty spirits. Shops spruiking beads, ribbon, zippers, fabric, thread and yarn line the streets of the entire suburb and I don’t mean your general notions kind of store. They tend to sell one thing – on one street the shops were filled with wall after wall of ribbon, a store brimming with every zipper you can possibly imagine drew us in and yet another street had several button shops. Little drawers full of ornate buttons and clasps were stacked from floor to ceiling. Oh the joy!

Ribbon Wall Sham Shui Po

It was a sight to behold. Had it not been pouring with rain I would have taken many more photos of the streets (more next time I promise!). In addition to all of these shops there was the fabric market – on the outside it looks like a shanty town. Inside is a treasure trove of fabrics at ridiculously cheap prices. Wool, silk and a healthy amount of polyester but oh my… what heaven to rummage through.

So here’s the damage:suede_leather_fabric
I had no intentions of buying leather, but I fell in love with the print on this hide and it just had to come home with me. I have plans for a little clutch bag, hopefully with a suede tassel to dangle from it. I’ve never sewn with leather before so it’s a complete experiment but these cost me almost nothing so I’m feeling extra brave!

fabric_leopard
Many zippers and embroidery thread were purchased and this leopard print is destined for some very special hot air balloons.

 
silk_fabric
I spotted this pure silk print and it was another – just have to take it home purchase. This one is simply going to be a light scarf for the summer and on my next Sham Shui Po trip (oh yes, there will be many more) I’ll have to find a co-ordinating pom pom trim.

 
sequins_gold
And then there were the gold sequins, these are going to adorn a pillow for our bedroom. While the rest of the apartment is almost finished our poor bedroom is just thrown together. I’m planning on white, navy blues and little sparkles of gold to go on our new bed. Oh so many projects to be done! There were a few more trims purchased but overall I think I was pretty restrained. Can’t vouch for any kind of restraint next time I visit.

5 thoughts on “Craft supply adventure in honkers

Leave a Reply

